Stars sizzle at Life Ok Screen Awards 2014

It was a sparkly night on Tuesday in Mumbai as it hosted the 20th Annual Life Ok Screen Awards. Bollywood talents received prestigious trophies at the award function. Movies like ‘Bhag Milkha Bhag’ and ‘Ram Leela’ bagged a number of awards. Movies like ‘Madras Café’ and ‘B A Pass’ made their presence felt as the new age cinema.

The venue of the award function was MMRDA grounds, Mumbai. Shahrukh Khan was the host of the show.

Farhan Akhtar was dressed in fusion clothing at the function. He received the award for the best actor (critics) for his movie ‘Bhag Milkha Bhag’. He was accompanied by his hairstylist wife Adhuna Akhtar. Shahrukh Khan also received the award for the best actor (popular) for his role in ‘Chennai Express’.

Deepika Padukone sizzled in a high neck black and gold gown. She bagged the award for the best actress (critics) for both ‘Chennai Express’ and ‘Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela’. She also received the award for the best actress (popular) for ‘Chennai Express’ and ‘Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela’. She seemed very happy to have bagged so many awards.

The award for the best debut male went to Sushant Singh Rajput for ‘Kai Po Che’. The award for the best debut female went to Aida Ei Kashef for ‘Ship Of Theseus’.

‘Bhag Milkha Bhag’ won another award for best film. Shoojit Sircar won the award for the best director for directing ‘Madras Café’. Ronnie Screwvala received award for his outstanding contribution to Indian cinema.

A prestigious award, Ramnath Goenka Memorial Award went to ‘Madras Café’.

 Amitabh Bachchan got lifetime achievement award. Amitabh Bachchan arrived at the award function along with his wife Jaya Bachchan and Abhishek Bachchan. Film maker Vidhu Vinod Chopra and yesteryear actor Shatrughan Sinha gave away the award to Mr. Bachchan. Later Amitabh Bachchan twitted, “Coming up to 2 am on the 15th and am back from Screen Awards, after they felicitate me with Lifetime Achievement Award .. honoured !”

He also added, “Does become most awkward to sit and hear 3 dynamic talents and icons of Industry, praise your presence .. deeply indebted to them !...Shahrukh, Vidhu Vinod Chopra and the eloquent Shatrughan Sinha, present me the Award .. but their words for me were bigger award.”

A humble Bachchan again wrote, ““When so many make such great effort to honour one, you almost begin to believe that you have done some good ! I have not !!”

‘B A Pass’ received award for best story. Pritam won the best music award for ‘Yeh Jawani Hai Deewani’. Arijit Singh was awarded best male singer for ‘Aashiqui 2’ and Shreya Ghosal won best female singer for ‘Aashiqui 2’.

A number of other talents also were also honored at the function.