Star Screen Awards: ‘Pink’, Big B, Alia Bhatt win big

Amitabh Bachchan’s his critically acclaimed film ‘Pink’ was a big winner at the 22nd annual Star Screen Awards held in Mumbai last night (Dec 4). The Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury directorial bagged as many as four awards, including the Best Film, Best Actor, Best Editing and Best Dialogue. The Best Actress Award went to Alia Bhatt for ‘Udta Punjab’, while Ram Madhvani received the Best Director: Award for 'Neerja'.

The highlight of the evening was superstars Salman Khan and Shah Rukh Khan who shared the stage as hosts of the awards show. Both the actors arrived in style on the stage riding bicycles. However, Karan Johar and Karan Singh Grover hosted the initial segment of the show when the ‘Alone’ actor took off his shirt and flaunted his well-built body.

Veteran actress Rekha was bestowed the Lifetime achievement award and the evergreen beauty enthralled the audience with a performance of her popular song ‘Pardesia’ (Mr. Natwarlal). Sonam Kapoor also presented a special performance on Rekha.

Tiger Shroff showed off his moves to ‘Tu Meri’ from Hrithik Roshan-starrer ‘Bang Bang’ and also shook a leg with Sushant Singh Rajput and Varun Dhawan. The ‘Baaghi’ actor’s rumoured girlfriend Disha Patani, who received the Best Newcomer (Female) Award ‘MS Dhoni: The Untold Story’, also performed, while Zareen Khan too danced to Salman Khan hits like ‘440 Volt’ from ‘Sultan’ and ‘Character Dheela’ from ‘Ready’.

Following is the complete list of winners at the 22nd Star Screen Awards 2016.

Best Film: Pink

Best Actor: Amitabh Bachchan for Pink

Best Actress: Alia Bhatt for Udta Punjab

Best Supporting Actor: Rishi Kapoor for Kapoor and Sons

Best Supporting Actress: Shabana Azmi for Neerja

Best Actor (Critics' choice): Sushant Singh Rajput for MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Best Actress (Critics' choice): Swara Bhaskar for Nil Battey Sannata

Best Actor (in a comic role): Varun Dhawan for Dishoom

Best Director: Ram Madhvani for Neerja

Best Screenplay: Saiwyn Quadras for Neerja

Best Dialogues: Ritesh Shah for Pink

Best Cinematography: Anay Goswamy for Fitoor

Best Editing: Aditya Bannerji for Pink

Best Action: Jai Singh Nijjar for Shivaay

Best Music Director: Pritam for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Playback Singer (Male): Amit Mishra for Bulleya, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Playback Singer (Female): Palak Muchhal for Kaun Tujhe, MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Best Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Choreography: Bosco-Caesar for Kaala Chashma, Baar Baar Dekho

Best Child Artiste: Riya Shukla for Nil Battey Sannata

Best Newcomer (Female): Disha Patani for MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Best Newcomer (Male): Jim Sarbh for Neerja and Harshvardhan Kapoor for Mirzya

Best Promising Director: Tinu Suresh Desai for Rustom

Lifetime Achievement Award: Rekha

Best Style Icon: Deepika Padukone