Salman Khan’s ‘Dabangg’ wins eight awards

Salman Khan and Sonakshi Sinha starrer ‘Dabangg’ won eight awards in different categories in the recently held Chevrolet Apsara Awards.

Produced by Arbaaz Khan and directed by Abhinav Kashyap, the film bags awards for the following categories, best actor (Salman Khan), best female singer (Mamta Sharma), best performance in negative role (Sonu Sood), best female debut (Sonakshi Sinha), best music (Sajid-Wajid), best dialogues (Abhinav Kashyap) and best male singer (Rahat Fateh Ali Khan).

The evening was made glitzy with some power-packed performances by Shahrukh Khan, Priyanka Chopra, Govinda and Anushka Sharma. The event  was attended by many Bollywood celebrities like Dharmendra, Rani Mukerji, Sunny Deol, Karan Johar, Aishwarya Rai, Katrina Kaif, Amitabh Bachchan, Akshay Kumar, Arjun Rampal and Yash Chopra among many others.

After ‘Dabangg’, the film that bagged maximum number of awards is ‘Band Baaja Baraat’, the movie won six awards.

Veteran actor Dharmendra won lifetime achievement award for completing 50 years in the Hindi film industry. Yash Chopra and Shahrukh Khan handed over the award to Dharmendra.