IIFA 2015: Kangana, Shahid, ‘Queen’, 'Haider' top IIFA Awards

Kangana Ranaut starrer ‘Queen’ bagged the Best Picture trophy at the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards, 2015, competing against hit films ‘2 States’, ‘PK’, ‘Haider’, ‘Highway’ and ‘Mary Kom’.

The Vikas Bahl directorial also received awards in two other categories – Best Story and Best Performance in a Leading Role – Female. Kangana was not present to receive the award, so the director collected the trophy on her behalf.

However, Vikas lost the Best Director award to Rajkumar Hirani who collected the trophy for ‘PK’.

The winner of Leading Role – Male was Shahid Kapoor for his performance in ‘Haider’. The other contenders in the category were Aamir Khan ('pk'), Hrithik Roshan ('Bang Bang!'), and Shah Rukh Khan ('Happy New Year').

Shahid and Hrithik also performed at the three-day-long extravaganza hosted by ‘Gunday’ actors Ranveer Singh and Arjun Kapoor. Ranveer’s rumoured girlfriend Deepika Padukone was felicitated with Woman of the Year award. She was also a nominee in the Best Performance in a Leading Role – Female category.

The nominations for Best Performance in a Supporting Role – Male included Ronit Roy ('2 States'), Randeep Hooda ('Kick'), Inaamulhaq ('Filmistaan'), Naseeruddin Shah ('Finding Fanny') and Kay Kay Menon ('Haider'), but Riteish Deshmukh walked away with the award for his villainous act in 'Ek Villain'.

If not in the Supporting Role, Kay Kay received the award for Best Performance in a Negative Role for 'Haider', while his co-star Tabu won Best Performance in a Supporting Role - Female.

Marathi film 'Lai Bhaari' was honoured with the award for Best Regional Film, which starred Riteish Deshmukh and co-produced by his star wife Genelia.

The award for the Best Performance in a Comic Role went to Varun Dhawan for his act in ‘Main Tera Hero’. The film’s directoe and his father David Dhawan collected the trophy on his behalf.

Composer trio Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy grabbed the Best Music Direction trophy for ‘2 States’ after facing competition from Mithoon ('Banjara', 'Zaroorat' and 'Hamdard') and Ankit Tiwari ('Galliyan'). Ankit however wasn’t disappointed as he won the award for Best Playback Singer – Male for the same.

In the Best Playback Singer - female category, the award went to 'Baby doll' singer Kanika Kapoor, who emerged amidst Sultana and Jyoti Nooran for ‘Patakha guddi’ and Shreya Ghoshal for 'Samjhawan'.

'Heropanti' actors Tiger Shroff and Kriti Sanon were thrilled to receive the Best Debut trophies from the hands of Hrithik Roshan and Anushka Sharma respectively, whom they look up to.

National Award-winning director Omung Kumar who received the Best Debut Direction award for 'Mary Kom', shared it with producer Sajid Nadiadwala, who made his directorial debut with 'Kick'.

The showman Subhash Ghai was the recipient of the award for Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema. He received the honours from Anil Kapoor and Jackie Shroff, whom he worked with in the 1989 movie 'Ram Lakhan' and more.

Actress Shraddha Kapoor also paid tribute to Ghai by performing to songs from his films like 'Taal' and 'Kisna'. “I grew up dancing on 'Taal se taal mila' in front of the mirror and today I got the opportunity to perform on the song on this platform,” the 26-year-old actress said.

Parineeti Chopra, Sonakshi Sinha and Anushka were among the other performers of the night full of glitz and glamour at the Putra Indoor Stadium in Malaysian capital Kuala Lumpur.

The show’s hosts also paid a special tribute to Shah Rukh and Kajol-starrer 'Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge', which completed 1,000 weeks of screening last year. They also cracked jokes on their controversial AIB Roast video.