IFFI closing ceremony: Akshay Kumar touches Amitabh Bachchan’s feet

At the closing ceremony of International Film Festival of India, megastar Amitabh Bachchan was honoured with the Indian Film Personality Of The Year. Information and Broadcasting Minister Smriti Irani and Akshay Kumar did the honour. Akshay went to Big B and attempted to touch his feet. Big B pulled him up and greeted Akshay with an embrace.

"Embarrassed that Akshay does this ... no Akshay this is not done," tweeted Big B. We can't decide what's more adorable - Big B wrote.

Amitabh Bachchan also shared photos from the felicitation ceremony, along with a message: "A most humbling evening at the IFFI awards... honoured and filled with such gratefulness to IFFI and the extremely endearing words by Akshay Kumar, Karan, and the dignitaries."

“I have always felt that my respect and regard for the Indian film industry has rested in the presence that the film industry has had in our world. When we sit inside a darkened hall, we never ask for caste, creed, colour or the religion of the person sitting next to us is,” he said.

“Yet, we see the same film, we laugh at the same jokes, we cry at the same emotion, we sing the same songs. In this fast disintegrating world of today, where can you find such a wonderful and worthy example of unity and integration as you do in the world of cinema,” he asked.

Citing a quote from father and Hindi poet Harivanshrai Bachchan, Amitabh said: “I once asked my father what do you getting watching films on TV every evening. He said: ‘I get to see poetic justice in three hours. You and I will see poetic justice in perhaps a lifetime’.”

The veteran star was honoured for his outstanding contribution to the Indian film industry by Smriti Irani and Akshay Kumar. “Thank you Smriti ji Hon Minister for Information & Broadcasting and the trouble you took in organising a most memorable evening for me .. one that I shall never forget ..” he wrote.

The closing ceremony of the 48th International Film Festival of India was also attended by Salman Khan, Katrina Kaif, Sidharth Malhotra, Huma Qureshi, Sonali Bendre, Bhumi Pednekar and Sushant Singh Rajput.