'Bhaag Milkha Bhaag' gets maximum nomination at IIFA

The 15th International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Award, the awards ceremony is scheduled to be held in Tampa Bay, Florida this year from April 23 to 26. The Wizcraft International Entertainment Pvt. Ltd promotes the IIFA celebrations globally every year, which travels to a new locale with the Film fraternity to unite and celebrate taking Indian Cinema to a wider audience.

This year, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra’s biopic ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ on athlete Milkha Singh has received the maximum nominations at the IIFA Awards.

The film has earned 10 nominations, including Best Director, Best Film and Best Actor. Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s ‘Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram leela’ and musical love story ‘Aashiqui 2’ have received seven nominations each.

The ceremony held by the International Indian Film Academy announced the winners of the technical categories of India’s most prestigious international awards on Friday.

And the runaway winner is ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ with 9 trophies in the technical category, bagging Best Cinematography (Binod Pradhan), Best Screenplay (Prasoon Joshi), Best Dialogue (Prasoon Joshi), Best Editing (P. S.Bharti),Best Sound Design (Nakul Kamte ),Best Sound Mixing (Pranav Shukla),Best Background Score (Shankar-Ehsaan- Loy), Best Costume Designing (Dolly Ahluwalia), and Best Make-Up (Vikram Gaikwad).

Superhero film ‘Krrish 3’ won two awards. The action-movie received Best Action (Sham Kaushal & Tony Ching Siu Tung) and Best Special Effects - Visuals (Keitan Yadav & Haresh Hingorani - Red Chillies VFX). Rohit Shetty’s blockbuster ‘Chennai Express’ got the Best Song Recording award (Vinod Verma for Lungi Dance) and Best Sound Mixing (Anup Dev) along with ‘Bhaag Milkha  Bhaag’.

According to reports, the Technical Award winners and the Popular Award nominations are derived from the IIFA Voting weekend that was held earlier in February. The IIFA Voting follows a stringent and methodical procedure, which is monitored by KPMG, the official auditors of the event.

The popular category nominations are now live for the global audience to participate in the voting procedure.

Fans across the world can vote online via iifa.com/globalvoting2014.

Some of the nominees in the popular categories are:

Best Film

Aditya Chopra – ‘Dhoom 3’

Karan Johar — ‘Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’

Kishore Lulla & Sanjay Leela Bhansali — ‘Goliyon Ki Rasleela-Ramleela’

Rakesh Roshan — ‘Krrish 3’

Ronnie Screwvala & Siddharth Roy Kapoor – ‘Kai Po Che’

Ronnie Screwvala,Siddharth Roy Kapoor, Gauri Khan & Karim Morani — ‘Chennai Express’

Viacom 18 Motion Pictures & Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra – ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’

Best Director

Abhishek Kapoor – ‘Kai Po Che’Rakesh Roshan – ‘Krrish 3’

Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra – ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’

Rohit Shetty – ‘Chennai Express’

Sanjay Leela Bhansali – ‘Goliyon Ki Rasleela- Ramleela’