‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ gets 10 nominations at IIFA, Mehra ecstatic

The 15th International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) awards ceremony to be held in Tampa Bay, Florida, between April 23 and 26 gains momentum as the organizers released the official IIFA Tampa Music Track.

According to reports, filmmaker Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra’s film ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ has got 10 nominations for the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) awards, making him proud that the movie is being talked about on such a forum.

The 10 nomination include, Best Director, Best Film and Best Actor. Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s ‘Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram leela’ and musical love story ‘Aashiqui 2’ has got 7 nominations each.

Mehra reportedly said, “When your film is being talked about on an international platform and in the presence of some big names from Hollywood and the Hindi film industry, it`s a moment of pride. I am extremely happy.”

While replying to media persons on whether Hollywood actors are as excited about Hindi cinema as Indian actors are about Hollywood, he said, “Cinema is cinema. I don’t think there is any obsession from either industries. If they have roles and scripts for our actors and if we have scripts for them, it’s a welcome change.”

Reportedly, actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha is set to be honoured for his ‘outstanding contribution to Indian cinema’ at the IIFA event.

The list of the nominees in some of the popular categories

Best Film

Aditya Chopra - Dhoom 3

Karan Johar - Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

Kishore Lulla & Sanjay Leela Bhansali - Goliyon Ki Rasleela-Ramleela

Rakesh Roshan - Krrish 3

Ronnie Screwvala & Siddharth Roy Kapoor - Kai Po Che

Ronnie Screwvala,Siddharth Roy Kapoor, Gauri Khan & Karim Morani - Chennai Express

Viacom 18 Motion Pictures & Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra - Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Director

Abhishek Kapoor - Kai Po Che

Rakesh Roshan - Krrish 3

Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra - Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Rohit Shetty - Chennai Express

Sanjay Leela Bhansali - Goliyon Ki Rasleela- Ramleela

Best Actor (Male)

Farhan Akhtar - Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Hrithik Roshan - Krrish 3

Ranbir Kapoor - Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

Ranveer Singh - Goliyon Ki Rasleela-Ramleela

Shahrukh Khan - Chennai Express

Sushant Singh Rajput - Kai Po Che

Best Actor (Female)

Deepika Padukone - Chennai Express

Deepika Padukone - Goliyon Ki Rasleela- Ramleela

Deepika Padukone - Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

Nimrat Kaur - The Lunchbox

Shraddha Kapoor - Aashiqui 2

Sonakshi Sinha - Lootera