Award Baggers at 2015 Mirchi Music Awards

7th Royal Stag Mirchi Music Awards was held on 26th February at Yash Raj Studio in Mumbai. It was a star-studded affair, with the presence of several musicians and Bollywood celebrities.

Javed Akhtar was honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award. Any music event would be incomplete without Arijit Singh being awarded. He won the title Best Male vocalist for ‘Samjhawan’ from ‘Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania’. His track ‘Muskurane’ won Listener’s Choice Song of the Year in romantic category.  ‘Zahe Naseeb’ from ‘Hasee Toh Phasee’ was declared Song of the Year. ‘Ek Villain’ won the race for Listener’s Choice Album of the Year, whereas ‘2 States’ bagged the trophy for Album of the Year. Shankar-Ehsaan Loy were the Best Composers for the song ‘Mast Magan’ from ‘2 States’. Vishal Bharadwaj was honoured Best Background Score for the film ‘Haider’.

The evening proved lucky for Praveen Muralidhar and Satchith Harve too, as they achieved Best Song Engineering for the famous track ‘Manwa Laage’ of ‘Happy New Year’. Yet another award to this film was that of Best lyricist that went to Irshad Kamil. This time, ‘Manwa Laage’ was the winner.

Nooran Sisters were presented with Best Female vocalist for the peppy track ‘Pata kha Guddi’ from ‘Highway’. Mirchi Selfie posted their photo on Twitter along with the tweet “.#nooransisters Feels great to win at the 7th #MMAwards #MeruSelfie #BestUseOfHands”. The two looked on cloud number nine as they posed with their trophies.

Gulraj Singh was awarded Upcoming Male Vocalist  for the track ‘Pakeezah’ from ‘Ungli’. Rashmi Singh took home the trophy for Upcoming Lyricist, in the romantic category for the ‘Citylights’ song ‘Muskurane’. Upcoming Music Composer went to Raj-Prakash. They were awarded for the song ‘Arziyaan’ of the flick ‘Jigariyaa’.  Rahat Fateh Ali Khan won Indi Pop Song of the Year for the song ‘Rab Jaane’.

The star of the evening was Madhuri Dixit. Subhash Ghai presented the award to Madhuri, who looked stunning in a silver-gray dress. This eye grabbing look was seen when Mrs. Nene posted her photo on Twitter and tweeted, “Thanks to the Mirchi Music Awards and all my fans!!” Radio Mirchi has shared some stills from the event on Twitter. The evening was adorned with mind blowing performance by Benny Dayal, Palak Muchhal and others. The classic beauty Madhuri Dixit set stage ablaze with her moves on the famous ‘Dola Re Dola’. Aditya Narayan, Aayushmann Khurana, Karishma Tanna and many singers and musicians were the hosts for the event.