Anupam Kher appointed new FTII chairperson

On Wednesday, veteran actor Anupam Kher has been appointed as the new FTII chairperson. He took the prestigious position by replacing Gajendra Chauhan. Gajendra Chauhan was appointed for the post on June 9, 2015 and his tenure ended in March, 2017.

 Anupam Kher, who bestowed with Padma Shri in 2004 and Padma Bhushan in 2016, was previously held the post of chairman of the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) and the National School of Drama.

Students protested against Gajendra Chauhan’s appointment as FTII chairperson. They called his appointment as “politically motivated”. They also went for strike against Gajendra Chauhan’s appointment.

Gajendra Chauhan congratulated Kher. 

"I congratulate Mr. Kher for this and I think whatever work was left during my tenure, he'll complete that," he said. 

He clarified that he was not sacked, "I must clear this that I haven't been replaced as I completed my tenure on 3 March, 2017. Mr. Kher has been appointed and my good wishes for him and all the best to him. I congratulate him for this," he added.

This is the second big move by Smriti Irani after she held the Minister of Information and Broadcasting department. Earlier in August, she fired Pahlaj Nihalani and had appointed Prasoon Joshi as the chairperson of the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC).

Anupam Kher has added his name to the FTII chairperson. Legendary film personalities including Shyam Benegal, Adoor Gopalakrishnan, Saeed Mirza, Mahesh Bhatt, Mrinal Sen, Vinod Khanna and Girish Karnad who held the office of FTII in different periods.