Aamir, Shahrukh lost to Prakash Raj

There has been a lot of hush-hush as who will win the best actor national award. Finally, the name of the winner was declared and south actor Prakash Raj walked away with the best actor award beating Bollywood top stars Shahrukh Khan and Aamir Khan. Prakash Raj won the award for his brilliant performance in Tamil film 'Kanchivaram'.

While Aamir Khan’s ‘Taare Zameen Par’ won the Best Family Welfare Film and Shankar Mahadevan bagged the Best Playback Singer for the song, Maa. Prasoon Joshi bagged the Best Lyrics award for the same song. While ‘Chak De India’ received the award for Best Film in overall entertainment.

Best Director award was given to Adoor Gopalakrishnan for his Malayalam film, 'Naalu Pennungal'. Best Screenplay award went to Feroz Abbas for the film ‘Gandhi My Father’. Uma Shree bagged the best actress award for Girish Kasaravalli's Kannada film 'Gulabi Talkies'.