Dear Zindagi

Dear Zindagi’ stars an ensemble cast of Shah Rukh Khan, Alia Bhatt, Ira Dubey, Kunal Kapoor, Ali Zafar, and Angad Bedi. Directed by Gauri Shinde, the movie is slated to release on November 25. The music for the film has been composed by Amit Trivedi, while the lyrics have been written by Kausar Munir. There is a total of eight tracks, including a remixed version of the title song, and two recreated versions of a classic number from 1983 film ‘Sadma’. The full album was released on November 15 under Sony Music India.

Just Go To Hell Dil:

It is a heartbreak song in the heartfelt vocals of Sunidhi Chauhan. She is ably supported behind the mic by composer Amit Trivedi, who has used violin and soft rock arrangement for the track. The lyrics are also appealing.

Love You Zindagi:

It is a very positive and mood-uplifting song in the soothing vocals of Jasleen Royal and composer Amit Trivedi. The song has a breezy arrangement with acoustic guitar and mandolin strums. Sound of trumpets can also be heard in between. The lyrics talk about loving, living and enjoying life to the brim.

Tu Hi Hai:

It is a soothing love song in the melodious tone of Arijit Singh, and has a happy feel to it. The music is also pleasant with arrangements of strings and drums. The lyrics are just okay.

Ae Zindagi Gale Laga Le -1:

It has become a trend to have at least one popular and classic song from old films in the soundtrack. ‘Dear Zindagi’ has aptly recreated the memorable number from 1983 film ‘Sadma’. Arijit Singh has done full justice with his rendition. Composer Amit Trivedi had added electronic background music, while keeping the original tune by Ilayaraja intact. The original lyrics by Gulzar are also not tampered with. 

Ae Zindagi Gale Laga Le -2:

The movie’s lead actress Alia Bhatt, who has exercised her vocals in her films ‘Highway’, ‘Humpty Sharma Ki Dukhaniya’ and ‘Udta Punjab’, once again gets behind the microphone for ‘Dear Zindagi’. However, her voice is overwhelmed by the additional music, which also rips the song of its feeling.     

Love You Zindagi (Club Mix):

As the name signifies, the cheerful song had been made dance-floor friendly by adding more music. And this time, Alia Bhatt replaces Jasleen Royal for the vocals. There is no change in the lyrics though. Both the songs are good to listen.

Taarefon Se:

This is another romantic number beautifully rendered by Arijit Singh. And the Jazz-flavoured orchestration by Amit Trivedi is a winner. The song opens with guitar strums mingling with blissful saxophone and soothing keys. The lyrics are also well-written.

Let’s Break Up:

After ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil’, celebration of break-up continues with ‘Dear Zindagi’, and this song to has been designed for the dance floor. The fast-paced song has been energetically rendered by Vishal Dadlani with ‘effects’. The lyrics are just about okay.

‘Dear Zindagi’ soundtrack is overall engaging with cheerful and soothing numbers.