Hrithik, Shahrukh, Vidya win 11th Stardust Awards

The film industry always starts a new year with its award functions. This year has been no different. The recently concluded Stardust awards function was held in suburban Mumbai, at the BKC MMRDA grounds yesterday.

This year witnessed the 11th Stardust awards. At the commencement of the function a one-minute silence was observed for two veterans of the industry- ‘King of Romance’ filmmaker Yash Chopra and actor Rajesh Khanna. Both the legends passed away last year.

Many of the stars of Bollywood won awards at the function. There had been many categories incorporated into the show that saw to it that most of the talented actors got an award.

Hrithik Roshan won the ‘Best Actor’ award in the ‘drama’ category, for his film ‘Agneepath’. The ‘Best Actress’ award for the same category went to two contenders- Priyanka Chopra won it for her outstanding performance in “Barfi!” and Sridevi won it for “English Vinglish”.

The ‘Best Actor’ award in the action-thriller category was given to Akshay Kumar for his role in the film “Rowdy Rathore”. The ‘Best Actress’ trophy belonging to the same category, was taken home by Vidya Balan for her role in “Kahaani”.

Amitabh Bachchan was revered by the award- ‘Star of the Century’. The ‘pride of the industry’ award was given to olden days’ actress Vyjayanthimala.

The ‘Best Actor’ award in the comic-romance role was won by Abhishek Bachchan for his film “Bol Bachchan”. Anushka Sharma was declared the best actress for her stint in the film “Jab Tak Hai Jaan” in the same category.

The “Star of the year” (male) award was won by two actors- Shah Rukh Khan and Akshay Kumar. This award in the female segment went to Priyanka Chopra.

“Barfi!” won the ‘Film of the Year’ award. Sanjay Dutt won the “Best Actor” award in a negative role for his reprisal of the role of Kancha Cheena in “Agneepath”.

The ‘Editor’s Choice Award” was won by Kareena Kapoor for her film “Heroine” and Shah Rukh Khan for “Jab Tak Hai Jaan”.

The “Supporting Actor Award” was shared by Nawazuddin Siddiqui for “Kahaani”, “Talaash” and “Gangs of Wasseypur”, and Prosenjit Chatterjee for “Shanghai”.

The “Supporting Actress Award” went to Shazahn Padamsee for her role in the film “Housefull 2”.

Newcomers like Varun Dhawan, Arjun Kapoor, Parineeti Chopra and Siddharth Malhotra were also felicitated at the awards night.

The show was hosted by Ayushmann Khurana. Kareena Kapoor, Varun Dhawan, Siddharth Malhotra, Sonakshi Sinha and Parineeti Chopra were seen giving scintillating performances.