Barfi!, Kahaani shine at Filmfare Awards 2013

Two films scores high at the Filmfare Awards 2013, Anurag Basu’s ‘Barfi!’ and Sujoy Ghosh’s ‘Kahaani’. Both these films were almost in every category and got maximum awards. Ranbir Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra starrer ‘Barfi!’ and Vidya Balan’s ‘Kahaani’ sweep maximum awards.

Along with these two movies, John Abraham’s ‘Vicky Donor’ also scored high and won many awards. The 58th Filmfare awards that were held at the Yash Raj Films studio in Andheri in suburban Mumbai were an extravaganza. 

Ranbir Kapoor bagged the best actor Filmfare awards for ‘Barfi!’ and Illeana D’Cruz won the best debutante award for the same movie.  The Best Background Score and Best Music Director awards went to Pritam for Barfi! and the award for Best Production Design went to Rajat Podar again for the same film.

Like last year, this year too Vidya Balan bagged the best actress award in all the award events. This year for her stupendous performance of Sujoy Ghosh’s ‘Kahaani’ where she played a pregnant woman who comes to India  in search of her missing husband. Sujoy Ghosh was awarded the best director award for ‘Kahaani’. While Best Sound Design award went to Sanjay Maurya and Allwin Rego for Kahaani.

Namrata Rao bagged the Best Editing title and Sethu winning Best Cinematography for ‘Kahaani’.

Annu Kapoor won the best actor award in supporting role for his portrayal of Dr Chaddha in Vicky Donor. Juhi Chaturvedi earned the Best Story award for the same film. Ayushmann Khurrana who debuted into singing won two awards - Best Debut (Male) and Best Playback Singer (Male) for the song Paani Da.

Anushka Sharma won Best Actor in Supporting Role (Female) award for Jab Tak Hai Jaan, while Gulzar won the Best Lyrics award for Challa from Jab Tak Hai Jaan.

Gauri Shinde won the best debutante director for ‘English Vinglish’. Best Dialogue Award went to Anurag Kashyap, Akhilesh Jaiswal, Sachin K Ladia and Zeishan Qadri for Gangs of Wasseypur. Best Screenplay Award goes to Sanjay Chouhan and Tigmanshu Dhulia for Paan Singh Tomar.

Shalmali Kholgade won award for the Best Playback Singer (Female) for the song Pareshaan in Ishaqzaade.

Best Action award went to Sham Kaushal for Gangs of Wasseypur and Best Choreography award went to Bosco-Caesar for the super fun song Aunty Ji from Ek Main Aur Ekk Tu. Neeti Mohan won the RD Burman Award, while the Lifetime Achievement Award went to late filmmaker Yash Chopra. Irrfan Khan won Filmfare Critics Award for Best Actor Male for Paan Singh Tomar and Richa Chaddha won the same award in female category for Gangs of Wasseypur.

Vidya Balan, Gauri Shinde with husband R Balki, Karan Johar, Irrfan Khan, Soojit Sircar, Chitrangada Singh, R Madhavan, Manoj Bajpayee, Kunal Kohli, Sonali Bendre with Goldie Behl, Yami Gautam, Ayushmaan Khurrana and David Dhawan, Shahrukh Khan, Madhuri Dixit, Pamela Chopra and many more graced the events.